This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

24 Hours in Ancient Athens: A Day in the Life of the People Who Lived There [9781782439769]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Spend 24 hours with the ancient Athenians. See the city through their eyes as it teeters on the edge of the fateful war that would end its golden age. Athens, 416 BC. A tenuous peace holds. The city-state's political and military might are feared throughout the ancient world; it pushes the boundaries of social, literary and philosophical experimentation in an era when it has a greater concentration of geniuses per capita than at any other time in human history. Yet even geniuses go to the bathroom, argue with their spouse and enjoy a drink with friends. Few of the city's other inhabitants enjoy the benefits of such a civilized society, though - as multicultural and progressive as Athens can be, many are barred from citizenship. No, for the average person, life is about making ends meet, whether that be selling fish, guarding the temple or smuggling lucrative Greek figs. During the course of a day we meet 24 Athenians from all strata of society - from the slave-girl to the councilman, the vase painter to the naval commander, the housewife to the hoplite - and get to know what the real Athens was like by spending an hour in their company. We encounter a different one of these characters every chapter, with each chapter forming an hour in the life of the ancient city. We also get to spy on the daily doings of notable Athenians through the eyes of regular people as the city hovers on the brink of the fateful war that will destroy its golden age.
AUTHOR: Dr Philip Matyszak has a PhD from the University of Oxford and currently works as a tutor for Madingley Hall Institute of Continuing Education at the University of Cambridge, teaching a course on Ancient Rome. He has written a number of bestselling titles on the ancient world including Ancient Rome on Five Denarii a Day and Ancient Athens on Five Drachmas a Day. In 2017 he wrote 24 Hours in Ancient Rome for Michael O'Mara Books. He lives in British Columbia, Canada.
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £12.99
£12.88
(You save £0.11 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781782439769
ISBN13:
9781782439769
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Author:
Philip Matyszak
Publisher:
Michael O'Mara Books Ltd
Publication:
18-Apr-2019
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
272
Weight:
800 Grams
24 Hours in Ancient China: A Day in the Life of the People Who Lived There cover photo

24 Hours in Ancient China: A Day in the Life of the People Who Lived There [9781789291216]

Spend 24 hours with the ancient Chinese.Travel back to AD 17, during the fourth year of the reign of Wang Mang of the Han dynasty, a vibrant and innov…

£13.39
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 25-Jun-2020
250 Best Meals in a Mug: Delicious Homemade Microwave Meals in Minutes cover photo

250 Best Meals in a Mug: Delicious Homemade Microwave Meals in Minutes [9780778804741]

The craze for microwaving portion-size dishes in a mug is building a head of steam. Meals in a mug are a perfect solution for solo dining, and they're…

rrp: £16.95
£15.91
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
225 Best Pressure Cooker Recipes cover photo

225 Best Pressure Cooker Recipes [9780778804482]

This new edition has been redesigned and features a new cover and 25 all-new recipes. The pressure cooker is indispensable for the busy home cook simp…

rrp: £16.95
£15.91
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
25 Years of the Ayrshire Road Run cover photo

25 Years of the Ayrshire Road Run [9781445681955]

The Ayrshire Road Run was instigated in 1993 as an adjunct to the established annual vintage rally organised by the Ayrshire Vintage Tractor & Machine…

rrp: £14.99
£14.41
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
25 Great Walkers' Pubs in the Yorkshire Dales cover photo

25 Great Walkers' Pubs in the Yorkshire Dales [9781445653297]

There's nothing quite like a refreshing drink after a day on the fells and hills of the Yorkshire Dales. Scenic beauty, majestic views, impressive …

rrp: £14.99
£14.41
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
24 Hours on the Somme: My Experiences of the First Day of the Somme 1 July 1916 cover photo

24 Hours on the Somme: My Experiences of the First Day of the Somme 1 July 1916 [9781445655451]

A rare and forgotten first-hand account of the first day of the Battle of the Somme by a British infantry soldier who went 'over the top' and survived…

rrp: £9.99
£9.49
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
25 Royal Babies that Changed the World: A History, 1066 to the Present cover photo

25 Royal Babies that Changed the World: A History, 1066 to the Present [9781445646497]

Babies are born every day, but only once or twice in a lifetime a child arrives who will inherit the throne. In the summer of 2013, the nation watched…

rrp: £8.99
£8.54
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
25 Quick Cartoon Characters: Art Instruction for Everyone cover photo

25 Quick Cartoon Characters: Art Instruction for Everyone [9781942021148]

From knitting personality Vickie Howell comes an adorable collection of modern baby knits featuring a fresh new take garter stitch, everyone s go-to f…

rrp: £7.99
£7.59
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
25 Years Of Grace: An Anniversary Tribute to Jeff Buckley's Classic Album cover photo

25 Years Of Grace: An Anniversary Tribute to Jeff Buckley's Classic Album [9781617136382]

Jeff Buckley made only one album, but the one he made has proved to be seminal. Grace emerged at a time when grunge gripped the charts. Buckley s refi…

rrp: £40.00
£24.13
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
25 Days 'til Christmas cover photo

25 Days 'til Christmas [9781409181538]

A contemporary, emotional, but ultimately feel-good, festive up-lit novel for fans of Jenny Colgan, Debbie Johnson, and Holly Martin.Kate Potter used …

£8.76
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days